Jump to content
  • 2017-2018 Board of Directors

    Michelle Hawkins

       Ringo McCollum   
    1st Vice-President

    Tim Earles
    2nd Vice-President

      Charles Taylor

      Dennis Maidon

    Vaughn Wicker
    ICC Representative


    Steve Holder - 2018
    Susan Carpenter - 2019
    Morgan Wheeler - 2020

    North Carolina

    Bill Moeller - 2018
    Tony Beasley - 2019
    Mark Matheny - 2020

    South Carolina

    Chris Lee - 2018
    Randy Pruitt - 2019
    Brad Rice - 2020


     Dallas Rucker - 2018
    Shane Chandler - 2019
    James Sullivan - 2020



    Building Safety Month

    Building Codes Save Lives.

    History of Building Safety Month

    For the last 38 years the worldwide Members of the ICC have celebrated advances in constructing safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient buildings and homes. The ongoing support of Building Safety Month and the important role code officials play in public safety in the built environment comes from the President of the United States, governors, mayors, county executives and other government officials and construction industry professionals. The Building Safety Month campaign helps to improve public safety by increasing awareness about how building codes and code officials improve and protect the places where we live, learn, work, worship and play.

    Help to Promote Building Safety Month

    Building Safety Month depends on the efforts of individuals like you. ICC will provide several resources to assist you in promoting Building Safety Month in your community. These resources will include strategies on how to set up a Building Safety Month event, a fill-in news release, a sample proclamation, kid's activity pages, stickers, brochures, pencils and more.

    You can also help spread the word through social media using #ICCBSM18.

    More Info

  • Feel free to contact us with one of the methods below:


    ICC Region 8
    Charles Taylor
    5009 Archers Rd.
    Wilson, NC 27896
    (252) 205-1891

    Dennis Maidon:
    (919) 965-3600


  • On March 18, 2017 during the annual conference in Helen, Georgia the new International Code Council Region VIII Chapter officers and directors were sworn in by ICC President Dwayne Garriss and ICC Board Member Donny Phipps.   I am extremely proud to have been elected as President and honored to be the “first female” instead of the “first lady” to serve in this role.  To those of you who have mentored, supported and voted for me I vow to do my very best.  For those of you who may not know me, I am one of the Past Presidents of BOASC and have served the City of North Charleston, SC for approximately 30 years and a member of Region VIII since approximately 2004 when it was established. 

    Our Immediate Past President Dennis Maidon will be a hard act to follow, as were so many of our Past Presidents of Region VIII.  Fortunately for us, Dennis will continue to play an active role as our webmaster and won’t be far away with those welcomed words of wisdom.   I couldn’t have asked for a better Vice President than Ringo McCollum of GA or a better 2nd Vice President than Tim Earles of TN.  These gentlemen have worked hard behind the scenes and proven to be assets to this association and I look forward to a productive year.  Charles Taylor of NC volunteered for the thankless job as Secretary/Treasurer when we were in dire need.  He has agreed to continue serving and I am very grateful.  As President, I am also looking forward to working with our Board of Directors:  Susan Carpenter, Steve Kinnaird, and Morgan Wheeler of GA; Bill Moeller, Tony Beasley, and Mark Matheny of NC; Chris Lee, Randy Pruitt, and Brad Rice of SC; Dallas Rucker, Shane Chandler, and James Sullivan of TN.  

    The 2017 membership has elected what I consider to be some of the most dedicated and dependable members to serve on the Board of Directors and as Officers from our Region.  I am extremely honored to be a part of this team and hope that all that read this truly understand what a great ICC Chapter we have!   If you are not a member of the Region VIII family I ask that you give us a chance and sign up today.  Yes, I said family, because we are part of the South where we still believe in honor and respect, manners, we shake hands, like to hug, and are always willing to offer our assistance.  We may have differences of opinions, we may not always agree, but we bless a few hearts and find a way to work out how we can best serve Region VIII to have a united voice in important ICC matters. 

    One of my biggest goals this year is to increase our membership and I challenge each state representative to help accomplish this task.  My second goal is to increase the number of Region VIII members that participate in the ICC code hearings whether it is in person or on-line, because in the past there has been one region that had more votes than most of the other regions together.  When we do not vote for or against code changes, we are allowing others to dictate the outcome and that is not how the system should work.  Thank you all for your time and patience in reading this letter and I look forward to new faces and learning new names from each of our great states of Region 8.  Please contact me with any questions or concerns and your ideas are always welcome.

    D. Michelle Hawkins
    ICC Region 8 President

  • Region 8 is an ICC Preferred Provider

    PPP_Horz_WEB.jpg Icc8_PreferredProvider-250X330.jpg


  • Members

    • dmaidon
    • Donny Phipps
    • Donny
    • Mike Smith
    • Susan Carpenter
    • timearles
    • Dwayne Garriss
    • City of Fayetteville
    • Tom Allen
    • paulcoats
    • Brad Rice
    • rabdella
    • Kimberly Craig
    • Wgreene
    • Chris Birchfield
    • City of High Point
    • Ringo McCollum
    • Mark Rice
    • Cornelia Fire Department
    • Regina Parris
    • FrankWoeste
    • Todd Herget
    • City of Gallatin
    • ROBERT
    • Tim Wakeley
    • Larry Lescure
    • Andrew
    • Patrick
    • pelipaidatjalk
    • Bill Stephenson
    • worldbaseballus
    • Steven Holder
    • hchitwood
    • Cheryl Knips
    • Tony Beasley
    • Michael Robinson
    • swelborn
    • Michelle Hawkins
    • Mark Matheny
    • John Hudgison
    • vwicker
    • Jeff Wilson
    • James Sullivan
    • Chris
    • mp2mmotank
    • Tony Elders
    • Alesia Deris
    • GSmith
    • E Mitchell
    • Michael Nugent
    • Ringo
    • Bertrum Seay
    • T Lee Cave
    • Sharon Shaw
    • Randy Pruitt
    • Allen
    • Hakim
    • Barbara Rhoads
    • Victor Casey
    • Chuck Stuart
    • Joan Rennhack
    • Paul Abrams
    • Michael Young
    • Richard A Spruce
    • David Jacobs
    • Les Everett
    • Heidi Bumgarner
    • Joe Davidson
    • David Kintner
    • Rebecca Simcox
    • kenneth foody
    • Barry Gupton
    • Jimmy
    • Butch Stott
    • Colleen Brew
    • ETBOA
    • James Snyder
    • joehayes1972
    • CharlestonSCrealtor
    • granspg
    • Steven Kinnaird
    • TButtram
    • Melissa
    • SAFEbuilt
    • rkleinsr
    • Randy Parnell
    • Heather Dodge
    • Guy
    • Jeff Masterson
    • Thomas County Bldg Dept
    • KathyandMike Brooks
    • Marvin Weathers
    • richardschauland
    • Alex E
    • Rick
    • Jeff Britt
    • redman1961
    • larry844423
    • jcollins6
    • tobbie3
  • Member Statistics

    Total Members
    Most Online
    Ringo McCollum
    Newest Member
    Ringo McCollum
  • Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 4 Guests (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online


Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.